Ágnes Kállay

Ágnes Kállay graduated from the Franz Liszt Academy of Music, Budapest in 2006. In the following year, she earned a DAAD scholarship and moved to Cologne (Germany) to study with Maria Kliegel at the Hochschule für Musik. In 2008, she continued her studies with Nick Tzavaras and the Shanghai Quartet at Montclair State University (USA). In 2013 she completed her doctoral studies with Colin Carr at Stony Brook University (USA).

In 2004, Ágnes Kállay won the Alpe Adria International Violoncello Competition in Gorizia (Italy) and the Beethoven Chamber Music Competition in London in 2007. Between 2010 and 2012, she won the Ackerman Chamber Music prize at Stony Brook University three times. In 2013, with her piano trio "Trio Artica", she received the Special Recognition at the Plowman Chamber Music Competition in Columbia, Missouri.

As a baroque cellist, she performs with Camerata Hungarica, the Mandel Quartet, Excanto and Marquise — early music ensembles. She has given masterclasses at "Renaissance and Baroque Week" in Gyor (Hungary), and at the Silicon Valley Music Festival in California. Since September 2013, Ágnes Kállay is a professor at the Béla Bartók Conservatory and at the Franz Liszt Academy in Budapest.

Find out more on Ágnes Kállay at her website.

Trio Artica performing the 3rd mvt. from Trio by Ives
Source: YouTube
Ágnes Kállay performing Évődő Bagatell by Hollós Máté, accompanied by Dominkó István
Source: YouTube