International Solo Violin Competition Cremona 2008


October 3 through October 5, 2008
@Palazzo Cattaneo

· International Solo Violin Competition
· Gala Concert with Eugene Fodor

Hosted by the Palazzo Cattaneo in Cremona

International Solo Violin Competition

Jury: Mikhaïl Bezverkhny, Jacek Klimkiewicz, Gian Paolo Luppi, Henry Raudales and Dirk Verelst (chairman)

Prize winners
1st prize: Sini Simonen (Finland)
2nd prize: Takao Hyakutome (Japan)
3rd prize: Floris Uytterhoeven (Belgium)


1st round (Friday, October 3)

  1. Johann Sebastian Bach — Adagio and Fuge from 1 of the 3 sonatas for solo violin (free choice)
  2. Niccolò Paganini — 2 caprices (one will be chosen by the jury members)

2nd round (Saturday, October 4)

  1. Eugène Ysaÿe — 1 solo violin sonata (free choice)
  2. Gian Paolo Luppi — 1 of the 2 caprices from Due Liriche (score)

Final round (Sunday, October 5)

  1. Béla Bartók — Solo sonata (Chaconne)
  2. Choice piece:
    Johann Stamitz — 2nd Divertimento: Duo pour violon seul (score)
    or Luciano Berio — Sequenza #8
  3. One solo piece of a maximum duration of 10 minutes (no Bach or Ysaÿe)